Painting Getaway

You know a mom needs a break when her getaway is doing labor for 3 days in someone else’s house.  When my mom asked for help on her must-do painting project, I jumped at the chance.  The thought of having 3 days with adult-only conversations, no alarm clock in the form of a child, no making lunches, dropping off and picking up at school, loads of laundry, fighting, whining, bedtime routines, and mid-night awakenings, I packed my bags a little quicker than probably appropriate for someone leaving their family for 3 days.

My mom and stepdad bought a beautiful home in Wenatchee earlier this year and have been busy updating, redecorating and renovating areas of the house they didn’t quite like.  I have lived thousands of miles away from my mom for 15 of the last 18 years.  To say that my mom and I are close is an understatement.  It has not been good (mostly for my husband) that I have lived that far from my mom for that many years.  So when they told me last summer that they were moving from Texas to Washington to be closer to us, I literally cried for hours, okay days, with tears of pure joy and excitement.  I’ve always said that the one missing thing in my life was not having my mom close.

Problem solved!  Mom is here.  I am happy.  Mom needs help painting.  Count me in.  In the last 3 days we’ve bought paint, taped, rolled paint, brushed on paint, bought more paint, removed tape, cleaned paint, performed contortionism in order to paint certain areas, taken Ibuprofen for newfound muscles, and loved every single second.

Moe Gymnastics Painting

Tomorrow I will head back West to be back with my husband and kids.  I’m not sad that I’m leaving and I’m not sad that I’ve been gone.  These are the moments I longed for when I was thousands of miles away from my mom.  And these are the moments that a mom needs to regroup, recoup, and refresh.  I find myself missing the alarm clock in the form of a child, making lunches, dropping off and picking up at school, loads of laundry, fighting, whining, bedtime routines, and mid-night awakenings.  I left for 3 days to get a break.  But what I really needed was to spend time with my mom.  She’s the reason why I love being a mom.

Mom Moe Painting

Leave a Reply

