The First Step is Admitting it…

I’m not afraid to admit it.  I’m not afraid to say it.  I am proud of this part of my life.   I may even talk about it on Facebook.  I will occasionally upload a someecard about it (gasp!).  But not everyone shares my enthusiasm.  Some even make fun of me for it.  Try to make me feel ashamed.  But I refuse.  My name is Mollye Taylor and I like to work out.

There I said it!  It’s not so bad.  There’s nothing shameful about it.  My name is Mollye Taylor and I like to work out.  Man that feels good to say.  I like to workout.  Yes, it’s true.  I like how it makes me feel.  No I don’t always like how I feel during.  I think there’s this misnomer from those who don’t like to workout, or have tried it only a couple of times, that those who do work out think it feels amazing.  I mean all the Nike commercials tell us we will.  Aerobics video infomercials tell us we will not only feel amazing, but we will look amazing.  And it will only take 6 weeks and we will have 3% body fat and a six pack.  Well I’ve been working out most of my adult life and I’m here to tell you, I do not have a chiseled six pack.  I mean it may be in there, but it’s hidden under my stretched out skin.  Thanks, kids.

No, it’s not always pleasant.  And there are days when the last thing I want to do is run 4 miles or sweat it out on an elliptical machine for 30 minutes.  It sucks when you’re exhausted from being a mom, wife, career woman, chauffeur, blah, blah, blah – we all have a zillion reasons why we’re tired every day.  Actually exhausted.  I’ve recently made it a goal to stop saying how exhausted I am all the time.  Even though I am.  Right now.  I’m exhausted.  But I still take my tired, exhausted ass to the gym, or hit the pavement, for a run.  You want to know why?  Because I like to work out.

I’m not writing this to convince someone to work out.  Although that would be a bonus!  I’m writing it as an attempt to erase the stigma that sometimes surrounds those who do work out.   Not everyone enjoys punishing themselves for hours each day.  I don’t.  I do have several friends who will run for hours each day and love it.  I consider that punishment.  I’ve ran 4 half marathons and I don’t recall one day where I ran more than 10 miles that I didn’t dread doing it beforehand.  I dreaded it up until I finished.  Nothing can quite compare to a “runner’s high”.  Yes, there’s such a thing.  And it’s exhilarating.

So what I’m trying to say is, not everyone who works out loves every second of it.  It can suck.  It does suck.  It hurts.  You sweat.  But you feel so good for doing it.  There’s a saying that sums it up perfectly as to why I love it (and trust me I have a ton of sayings), “Sweat is weakness leaving the body.”

It’s true.

Moe Running

Leave a Reply

