Flashback Friday – Taylor Tribune – 6/25/06

Front Page Forum

For those of you who have been keeping track, it has been exactly 100 days since I wrote my last Tribune.  I have had many inquiries as to what happened over here at Tribune Headquarters… and all I can say is I don’t recommend moving and getting knocked up all in the same time frame.  I’m sure most of you know that both events occurred, but most probably haven’t heard my sob story about being very sick for 14 weeks.  Also, our home computer is now downstairs and up until recently I haven’t liked going down there much because it’s cold.  Now that it’s summer it actually feels good.  But I have also decided to just write The Tribune on my laptop and send it to you from my work email since I don’t check my Comcast email that much anymore.  Okay, do you wish I didn’t start up the Tribune again so you could skip the meaningless details of my thought processes?  Too late!

Toddler Tantrums

We have a new name for Levi’s article… he’s not so much a baby anymore so we will have to reserve that for our next delivery coming this fall.  Levi has turned into this playful, cuddly creature we all can’t get enough of.  Although, he does have his moments!  But I would like to focus on his good traits.  He is very active and pretty much never stops running.  Remember way back when I was making fun of Keith for stating how fast he thinks Levi is?  Well I have to tell you that I really think we have a future track star on our hands.  This kid can run so fast he amazes strangers who witness his sprints.  We have had numerous people tell us how fast he is.  I literally have a hard time chasing him because he outruns me.  Now this may have something to do with my five-month old fetus growing in me, but regardless, he is a little speedster.  I don’t dare let him down in a store because the minute his little feet hit the ground he’s off and peeling around a corner out of seeing distance.  I have to send Logan after him to fetch him back for me.  I always know when Logan manages to get him because I hear a high-pitched shrill from the next isle.  I will also have to say that Levi is not much a talker… why, we’re not sure, considering Keith and I fight for the spotlight.  Levi babbles quite a bit, but he limits his conversations to a language only known by himself.  The cutest thing is whenever he hears the phone ring he says, “Hello?”  He loves to say that.  He also asks us, “What’s that?” about 159 times a day.  Any noise or toy or shadow or bug or speck of dust he will point to and ask, “What’s that?”  Not sure if he really wants to know what it is or if he just likes to say that because we always have a response for him.  Once we answer him he seems content with that and moves on to the next thing.

Life of Logan

Mister Logan has been a busy boy.  He finally got out of school on June 15th and had his first full week off of school this past week.  He decided to attend basketball camp last week which lasted 4 days from 8-10:00 each morning.  He absolutely loved it and said he learned a lot!  We were thrilled that he wanted to do it.  He wished it lasted longer.  On Saturday we visited Camp Killoqua, which is the camp he will be attending Aug 6-12.  He wasn’t sure if he really wanted to go to camp for a whole week until we got there and took a tour and talked with some of the counselors.  Now he can’t stop talking about it and is counting down the days until he gets to go.  Brandon and I went to camp for many years at Camp Wapsie in Iowa, which is pretty much the same thing as this camp.  We loved going to camp and couldn’t wait to go every summer.  Logan is most excited for archery and swimming in the lake.  He won’t want to leave!  Logan continues to be such a great kid.  He is the best big brother and really helps out with Levi.

Logan holding Levi

We have given Logan more responsibility with house chores and he’s doing really well with that, even with minimal complaining!  He will be in 5th grade next year and had to switch schools again because we moved.  I registered him a couple of weeks ago and he got to see his school.  He doesn’t seem too bothered by the new school… he’s most sad about not seeing his friends from his old school.  He was really sad the last day of school because he had to say goodbye to everyone.  It broke my heart.

Keith’s Korner

Keith is at work today.  In the past 48 hours he has had about 9 hours of sleep.  Partly because his last shift only allowed for 3 hours of sleep and the rest because we went out last night with his family and stayed out until 12:30am.  We went out with his cousins he hasn’t seen in over 20 years.  We went to a karaoke bar (imagine that) and caught up on what they have been up to.  It was very cool to meet some of Keith’s family that I hadn’t met before and he hadn’t seen in a long time.  One of his cousins he hadn’t even met because she wasn’t born yet when they lost touch.   They were all very cool and down to earth and I’m sure we will be seeing more of them.  Keith has been a busy man fixing up our yard.  I have to tell you how impressed I am with how much he can get done and how good of a job he does.  I think he missed his calling as a landscaper!  He is very particular about getting things done around the house and doing it right the first time.  The result is a beautiful yard that is clean and healthy and weeded.  Keith also made me a raised garden in the backyard.  We planted corn, peppers, tomatoes, green onion, green beans and peas.  So far all of them have sprouted except the bell peppers.  He just seeded the backyard as well since the grass is scarce and there’s a lot of sand.  So once the backyard is looking good I think he’ll be happy with his work.  He spends most of his days with Levi and Logan outside working in the shop or the yard and organizing everything.  What is it about men that they spend so many hours in the garage?  I mean, I try to only spend time in the garage to give me enough time to walk from inside to my car and then high-tail it out of there.  Just one of the many differences between the sexes.

Hormonal Confessions

I have decided to keep the title of my article because it just seems to suit me so well.  I think Keith would have to agree.  Pregnancy definitely does a number on the hormones!  They are raging and unpredictable.  I cry all the time, but not because I’m unhappy or sad, mostly because something moved me on TV or I think about something sentimental and it draws a tear to my eye.  Keith has got to be the best husband put on this earth because he is so good to me…  I think sometimes too good even when I don’t deserve it.  He rubs me, pampers me, puts up with my mood swings, takes care of the children when I need to rest, and gets up with Levi so I can sleep in.  Do they make them any better than that?  I am thankful I have such a wonderful husband and father to my children.  As most of you know we found out on Thursday we are having another boy.  Even though I made it clear I wanted a girl, the minute I saw his little body on the ultrasound screen I couldn’t want anything but what he already was.  So I will now be the proud mama of 3 beautiful, precious boys.  Work has been good.  I now have a new title and job description.  I sort of created my own position within the company.  My new title is Internal Recruitment Administrator, which is just fancy for the person responsible for all of the on-boarding for our new recruiters.  Our Virtual Recruiting Team has grown so much that it mandated a person responsible for processing all of the new hire paperwork, scheduling for orientation, conducting backgrounds, references, etc.  Pretty much all of the HR stuff which I love to do!  So I no longer do the recruiting, which I am just fine with.  My least favorite aspect of HR is the recruitment part, which is pretty ironic since that was what I used to do.  I have been so busy that we had to bring on an assistant to help me with all of the processes.  He lives in LA and is very cool.  He’s very low-maintenance so that makes it nice.  I just give him stuff and he does it with minimal questions.  He just started last week so let’s hope this stays true.

Leave a Reply

