Halloween Ceremony

It’s been a long week.  As I touch on in my video, I am a wife of a fire fighter.  Being a fire fighter’s wife is exhausting, sometimes scary, but most of all, an honor.  But let’s just touch on the exhausting part for a moment.  Yes, I’m proud of my husband.  Yes, he has an honorable profession.  Yes, he’s hot… oh wait, that’s not relevant here. But anyway, being a wife of a fire fighter has its challenges.  One of them is that he’s gone approximately a third of the year.  Yes that’s approximately 126 days a year, give or take (don’t quote me on that – I didn’t do the exact math).

There’s a perception among some that fire fighters have this plush schedule.  It isn’t so.  Without going into the whole politics of it all, fire fighters have a brutal schedule.  They are at the mercy of the public — at all hours of the day.  And that mercy carries over to their families, kids, and everyday existence of them all.  I’m not complaining, just stating facts. So that said, us significant others, are left to fend for themselves during those 126 days or so per year.

On this Wednesday Video Confessional, I thought I’d give a glimpse of the lighter time spent while the hubby is gone.  Us moms gotta entertain our kids (and ourselves!) somehow.  Let me set the stage — My BFF brought her 3 boys over for a sleepover on a Friday night in October.  Full-on Halloween season!  Full-on Halloween season for me actually starts the last week of September, so by mid-October, it’s on.  When you have a house-full of boys, you need to think outside of the box.  And if you’re my BFF, you just sorta fly by the seat of your pants and make it up as you go along.

Pretty funny what two exhausted moms, 6 kids (all boys), and an iPhone can capture on an October Friday night.  I have to give it to BFF for her impromptu Halloween Ceremony!  And please take note of the freaky, red eyes on all the kids.  Those were unintentional from the ceremonial candle in the middle of the circle.  But they added quite the spooky effect, if I say so myself!

Leave a Reply

