Introducing Layton

Since Layton was my last I figured I’d introduce him last as well.  Only seemed fitting.  Layton is the baby, 5-years old, just started kindergarten, and is the most wonderful accident I’ve ever known.  I say “accident” because that’s exactly what he was.  After we had Luke, we were quite done having children.  We had 3 healthy boys and that was enough for us.  Or as much as we could handle.  Not so much.  Luke was 7 months old, I was still nursing him, I was on the mini-pill, just started sleeping fairly regularly with only one nightly feeding at that point, and I got pregnant.

To say we were surprised is an understatement.  To say we were thrilled would be a lie.  To say that my husband fell to the ground when I showed him the positive pregnancy test is a fact.  I remember sitting down next to him asking him what we were going to do.  After about 10 long deep breathes and a minute of silence he raised his head from his hand that had made an indent from gripping it and he said, “We’re going to have a baby.”

Layton Daddy

And that’s just what we did.  From the moment that little baby was placed into our arms, to every moment since, Layton has been the most joyous, amazing being a parent could ever want.  He was the missing piece from our family that we didn’t know was missing.  And he’s the perfect fit.  Now I’m not saying that we haven’t gone through some hard times.  I mean, I honestly don’t remember his first year much.  Picture yourself with an 11-year old, 3-year old, 16-month old and a newborn.  Now picture your husband gone for 24 hours at a time.  I don’t want to be left alone with a 3-year old at this point, let alone all the others.  I sometimes don’t know how we survived those first couple of years.  But I don’t want to think about not having all 4 of our boys.  You just make due and take it day by day — sometimes minute by minute.  Survival mode.

Layton is what you would call exuberant.  He’s the loudest child I’ve ever heard.  His volume is just usually turned up a notch higher than others.  At first appearance, you may think Layton is just this rough, loud boy that hardly settles down.  But the truth is, of all our boys, Layton has the most sweetest demeanor, even above Lukey, which is hard to believe.  He’s the first to give someone love if they’re hurt or upset, which is way more than what his brothers would do for him.  He’s lucky if they’ll acknowledge he’s hurt.  He’ll turn over a toy, even one he loves, to his brothers if they’re upset.  Again, not something commonly seen by the others.  He’ll just walk up and grab my hand and give it a kiss out of nowhere.  He also tells me I’m pretty.  I know Daddy trained him on that but I don’t care.  He can say it whenever he wants.

So did I ever think I would end up with 4 kids?  Not ever.  And did I think they would be all boys?  Absolutely not.  Would I change a single thing?  Not for all the money or sweet little girls in the world.  I’ll keep my boys just fine.  But would it have hurt for my husband to give me just one girl?

IMG_3514

IMG_3515

It doesn’t matter how you follow me, just follow me!

Follow me on Twitter! Follow me on Bloglovin! Follow me on Instagram! Follow me on Google+!

Leave a Reply

