Lopped for Locks

Ever since I had my youngest 5 years ago, I’ve been growing out my hair.  I was not feeling sexy right after giving birth, as any mom doesn’t after having a baby, so I decided I was going to grow out my hair.  Clearly growing out my hair would automatically make me sexy.  Well that’s how I reasoned it in my mind and you don’t argue with a woman who just gave birth.  Long hair equaled sexy and that was that.  I was claiming my sexiness back one millimeter at a time.  I was so determined that I never stopped to really evaluate whether my theory of long hair really equaled sexy.  Every time I looked in the mirror lately and saw my long straggly hair, never did sexy enter my mind.

Fast forward 5 years and a trip to the salon to get my hair done and I decided I’m done.  Well I’ve actually been considering it for a few months now but every time I sat down in the salon chair I convinced myself I would regret it and I had 5 years’ worth of hair growing here.  But this time a switch went off.  I refuse to let anything define me, I’ll be damned if my hair will!  Lisa, who is my hairstylist and my sister-in-law, told me she once heard a guy tell her, “Short hair is hamburger and long hair is filet mignon.”  She said she always thought of that when she or someone else talked about cutting their hair.  Well for some reason hearing that actually was the deciding moment to cut if off.  Like I said, I don’t let anything define me, especially not the words from a guy I don’t even know!  Women are sexy.  Period.  Long hair or short.

Since I was considering taking off a lot of inches, I wanted to donate it to Locks of Love.  It was also my other sister-in-law’s 40th birthday, and she just battled breast cancer, so it was a sign that this was the right time and day to do it.  I wanted to donate hair in honor of her and her battle.  Lisa separated the top from underneath where I don’t dye my hair so I could donate my natural hair.  She then put a rubber band on it and lopped it off!

IMG_3672

IMG_3670

IMG_3669

She took off 12.5 inches!  The minimum that Locks of Love requires to actually use in a hair piece is 10 inches.  I guess you could say I’m an over achiever.  From the first lock to the last snip, I never regretted it.  Actually the more she cut, the more beautiful and sexy and less-defined I felt.  And knowing I wasn’t only changing my own outlook, but also changing another by donating my hair, is as beautiful as it gets.

IMG_3668

IMG_3666

IMG_3663

And the best part?  My husband loves it.  Nothing’s sexier than that.

IMG_3662

Check out Locks of Love at http://www.locksoflove.org/.

If you want to donate your hair for Locks of Love or just need a kick-ass hairstylist, go see my sister-in-law at Blonde & Beyond Hair Design!  Lisa offers 50% off your hair cut for anyone who’s donating their hair to Locks of Love.

It doesn’t matter how you follow me, just follow me!

Follow me on Twitter!
Follow me on Bloglovin!
Follow me on Instagram!
Follow me on Google+!

7 thoughts on “Lopped for Locks

Leave a Reply

